top of page


History of

Château Haut-Piquat



Our history

With sharecropper ancestors, winegrowers, coopers, cellar masters and wine merchants (all from SAINT-ÉMILION or its region)

Vines and wine run through the veins of the RIVIÈRE family


Jean Pierre has always been immersed in the world of wine. From his childhood in the property  from his grandparents in SAINT CHRISTOPHE des BARDES to his adolescence in the family property of CLOS des MENUTS in SAINT-ÉMILION with his brother PHILIPPE.

It is therefore naturally that on leaving his studies, with the complicity of his father PIERRE, he began to look for a beautiful terroir to make his own wine.

Chance would have it that one day in 1972 the meeting with Château HAUT-PIQUAT took place.

Then begins a process of restoration and continuous evolution of the vineyard, the Château and its park.

From the origin to today

The foundation of Lussac

The foundation of Lussac finds its origin with the installation of the villa of a Gallo-Roman character, Luccius, in the middle of the vineyards. He built his city there: “Luccianus” and thus determined the first limits of the village.

The Picampeau megalith: located in the Bois de Picampeau in the heart of the Château Haut-Piquat vineyard, this imposing stone was used for Druidic ceremonies in Gallo-Roman times. (Engraving by Léo Drouyn from 1861).

bottom of page